Our Governing body:


Mrs Anne Camm- Chair of Governors

Mrs Alison Warner - Vice Chair of Governors

The Revd Canon Dr Matthew Rhodes

Mr David Clark - Foundation Governor

Miss Yvette Jackson - Foundation Parent Governor

Dr Jenny Owen - Community Governor

Dr Duncan Payne - Foundation Parent Governor

Karole Sargent- Executive Headteacher

Karen Miller- Head of School

Mrs Anne Camm- Chair of Governors 

I have been in education for as long as I can remember!

I have taught in co-ed and single sex schools both in the maintained and private sector.  For the last 10 years of my career I was a Headteacher so I am only too aware of the issues schools today. I retired in 2017 and trained as a Lead Inspector (having been a team inspector for a longtime previously). I very much enjoy the Inspecting and keeping up to date with everything, although not every school is pleased to see inspectors!
I live in Sheffield and have two grown up daughters to keep me under control!


Mrs Alison Warner - Vice Chair of Governors

I have spent 40 years in education in Nottingham and Sheffield and a further 7 years of my retirement, up to now, as a Governor in Sheffield schools. My teaching experience is in primary, secondary and further education, and as a Governor in maintained, federated schools and those that are academies.

I seek to be involved in the life of the school, and get to know some of the children and parents. I want the school to develop and achieve goals, however, I want to see the children have a broad education in which they develop their thirst for learning and enjoy school. 

I have friends around the country who come to Sheffield on a regular basis so I have become quite good at catering. Their reasons for coming include the countryside around which I too have always enjoyed walking in and when there is time left I get out in my garden where my love is herbaceous plants.

Mr David Clarke - Foundation Governor

Growing up in Cheltenham, Gloucester, I attended a Church of England primary school where the vicar ran the school Chess Club, a positive experience as I briefly topped the leader board!

Secondary education at a local comprehensive ending in A levels brought me to Sheffield University where I studied for a Masters Degree in Chemistry.

After 6 years of working for the Church of England, mostly at Sheffield Cathedral, I went part time to study for a Masters Degree in Heritage Management, covering strategy, finance, marketing etc. 

In addition to this I am a member of the Church Council at St. Mary's, Walkley, where I oversee the website and church magazine, and bring insight from work at the Cathedral to building related matters.

Miss Yvette Jackson - Foundation Parent Governor

I first came to St Mary's when one of my daughters was admitted here 8 years ago. I also have another daughter who attended the school and have forged good relationships with staff, parents and children alike.

I became a governor three and a half years ago and have fully enjoyed being involved in school life, working together to make a difference to the lives of children in our community.

I attend St Mary's Church and fully support the Christian ethos that can be seen everyday in school.

In my spare time I love to spend time with my daughters and enjoy baking and walking.

I can teach sign language and have previously taken groups of children for lessons in school.


Dr Jenny Owen - Community Governor

I spent the first ten years of my working life as a community adult education and community worker in Sheffield and Rotherham.  After becoming a Mum myself, I went back to university for further study in sociology, and then became a lecturer and researcher at Sheffield University.

My main areas of interest have been in the health of children and young people, so for example, I have taught medical students and social work students about what they can do if they think a child is being neglected or badly-treated.

In my spare time I'm a keen gardener and photographer. I recently retired from my full-time work, and am looking forward to working with everyone at St Mary's. remembering how much my own son and daughter benefited from a great experience at primary school, I know how much difference we can make by working together.


Dr Duncan Payne - Foundation Parent Governor

My educational life has been quite varied, attending three international schools in two African countries (where my parents worked as missionaries), as well as completing my secondary education in Suffolk. 

University studies brought me to Sheffield where I studied for an undergraduate masters in Computer Science, followed by a PhD in Computational Biology. During my PhD years I had the opportunity to study for a semester in Germany and was able to pick up a fair bit of the German language.

I have really been able to see the benefits of a good education and wish, where possible, to encourage today's generation to fulfil their potential and look forward to a bright future.  










































Please click here to read the Governance Handbook